The Color of Asylum nominated for C. Wright Mills Award

Cover of book "The Color of Asylum" by Katherine Jensen.Katherine Jensen‘s book, The Color of Asylum, is a finalist for the C. Wright Mills Award from the Society for the Study of Social Problems (SSSP). In The Color of Asylum, Katherine Jensen offers an ethnographic look at the process of asylum seeking in Brazil, uncovering the different ways asylum seekers are treated and the racial logic behind their treatment.

SSSP annually gives its prestigious C. Wright Mills Award to the author of what the committee considers to be the most outstanding book written in the tradition of C. Wright Mills and his dedication to a search for a sophisticated understanding of the individual and society. Past winners have included Patricia Hill Collins, William Julius Wilson, Pun Ngai, Pierrette Hondagneu-Sotelo, Charles Tilly, Theda Skocpol, Rosabeth Moss Kanter, Harry Braverman, Frances Fox Piven-Richard Cloward, Jacqueline P. Wiseman, Laud Humphreys, and Jerome H. Skolnick.