Board of Visitors

Sociology Department Board of Visitors giving the "W" sign with their hands
The Board of Visitors is a group of alumni and friends who support, advise, and advocate for the Sociology Department. The Board is dedicated to promoting the long-term development of relationships with alumni and friends, and to building the resource base necessary to sustain the Department as a world leader in the social sciences. The Board may advise and assist with development and outreach efforts, help the Department expand career opportunities for students, keep the Department informed of best business practices, and serve as goodwill ambassadors for the Department.  The photograph on the left shows members at the fall meeting of the Board in 2018.

At its October 9th Board of Visitors virtual meeting, new officers were elected to represent all UW-Madison Sociology alumni in advocating and supporting faculty, staff and students. The incumbents will serve three year terms. These UW-Madison Sociology alumni are: Beth Garrow, Chair (BA ’77); Wesley Sparkman, Vice Chair (BA ’96); and Lisa Youngers, Secretary (BA ’89). In addition, Martin Preizler, immediate past chair, was appointed to chair the newly formed Membership Committee.

Funseth, Abby

Position title: Ex-Officio Member of the Board

Email: abby.funseth@supportuw.org

Phone: (608) 405-0433

Garrow, Beth

Position title: Chair, Board of Visitors, Since 2020

Email: bethgarrow@comcast.net

Gobourne, Kingsley

Position title: Member, Board of Visitors, Since 2018

Email: kingsleygobourne@gmail.com

Hankin , Janet

Position title: Member, Board of Visitors, Since 2016

Email: janet.hankin@wayne.edu

Hearn , Kim

Position title: Member, Board of Visitors, Since 2019

Email: kim.hearn@uwdc.org

Horn , Alison

Position title: Member, Board of Visitors, Since 2018

Email: alisonphorn@gmail.com

Marrett, Cora

Position title: Member, Board of Visitors, Since 2019

Email: cmarrett53@gmail.com

Martínez, Jesús

Position title: Member, Board of Visitors, Since 2012

Email: Jesus.Martinez@genusplc.com

Parisi, Joe

Position title: Member, Board of Visitors, Since 2019

Email: parisi@countyofdane.com

Preizler, Marty

Position title: Member, Board of Visitors, Since 2014 (Previously 2008-2010)

Email: map6786@uwalumni.com

Richter , Andrew

Position title: Member, Board of Visitors, Since 2012

Email: andrew.richter@aya.yale.edu

Sanchez, Laura

Position title: Member, Board of Visitors, Since 2019

Email: Sanchez.Laura.Ann@gmail.com

Schwartz, Christine

Position title: Chair Ex-Officio Member, Board of Visitors

Email: cschwart@ssc.wisc.edu

Sparkman, Wesley

Position title: Vice Chair, Board of Visitors, Since 2020

Email: sparkman@countyofdane.com

Weirath , Thomas

Position title: Member, Board of Visitors, Since 2009 (Previous Chair)

Email: gored75@aol.com

Youngers, Lisa R.

Position title: Board Secretary, Board of Visitors, Since 2020

Email: lryoungers@gmail.com