Board of Visitors

The Board of Visitors is a group of alumni and friends who support, advise, and advocate for the Sociology Department. The Board is dedicated to promoting the long-term development of relationships with alumni and friends, and to building the resource base necessary to sustain the Department as a world leader in the social sciences. The Board may advise and assist with development and outreach efforts, help the Department expand career opportunities for students, keep the Department informed of best business practices, and serve as goodwill ambassadors for the Department.

Campbell, John L.

Position title: Member, Board of Visitors, Since 2022

Email: John.L.Campbell@Dartmouth.EDU

Chavez, Phil

Position title: Member, Board of Visitors, Since 2021

Email: pchave@milwaukee.gov

Diaz-Ricks, Megan

Position title: Member, Board of Visitors, Since 2022

Email: mdiaz-ricks@communityshares.com

Funseth, Abby

Position title: Ex-Officio Member of the Board

Email: abby.funseth@supportuw.org

Phone: (608) 405-0433

Garrow, Beth

Position title: Member, Board of Visitors, Since 2020

Email: bethgarrow@comcast.net

Gobourne, Kingsley

Position title: Member, Board of Visitors, Since 2018

Email: kingsleygobourne@gmail.com

Grodsky, Eric

Position title: Chair Ex-Officio Member, Board of Visitors

Email: egrodsky@ssc.wisc.edu

Hankin , Janet

Position title: Board Secretary, Board of Visitors, Since 2016

Email: janet.hankin@wayne.edu

Hanna, Alex

Position title: Member, Board of Visitors, Since 2022

Email: alex.hanna@gmail.com

Hearn , Kim

Position title: Member, Board of Visitors, Since 2019

Email: kim.hearn@uwdc.org

Horn , Alison

Position title: Member, Board of Visitors, Since 2018

Email: alisonphorn@gmail.com

McDowell, Vanessa

Position title: Member, Board of Visitors, Since 2021

Email: vmcdowell@ywcamadison.org

Richter , Andrew

Position title: Member, Board of Visitors, Since 2012

Email: andrew.richter@aya.yale.edu

Sanchez, Laura

Position title: Member, Board of Visitors, Since 2019

Email: Sanchez.Laura.Ann@gmail.com

Sandefur, Gary

Position title: Member, Board of Visitors, Since 2022

Email: gary.sandefur@okstate.edu

Sparkman, Wesley

Position title: Chair, Board of Visitors, Since 2020

Email: sparkman@countyofdane.com

Suemnicht, Caitlin

Position title: Member, Board of Visitors, Since 2021

Email: caitlin.suemnicht@gmail.com

Weirath , Thomas

Position title: Member, Board of Visitors, Since 2009 (Previous Chair)

Email: gored75@aol.com

Youngers, Lisa R.

Position title: Vice Chair, Board of Visitors, Since 2020

Email: lryoungers@gmail.com