Board of Visitors

Sociology Department Board of Visitors giving the "W" sign with their hands

The Board of Visitors is a group of alumni and friends who support, advise, and advocate for the Sociology Department. The Board is dedicated to promoting the long-term development of relationships with alumni and friends, and to building the resource base necessary to sustain the Department as a world leader in the social sciences. The Board may advise and assist with development and outreach efforts, help the Department expand career opportunities for students, keep the Department informed of best business practices, and serve as goodwill ambassadors for the Department.  The photograph on the left shows members at the fall meeting of the Board in 2018.

Funseth, Abby

Ex-Officio Member of the Board

abby.funseth@supportuw.org

(608) 405-0433

Garrow, Beth

Vice Chair, Board of Visitors, Since 2014

bethgarrow@comcast.net

Gobourne, Kingsley

Member, Board of Visitors, Since 2018

kingsleygobourne@gmail.com

Hankin , Janet

Member, Board of Visitors, Since 2016

janet.hankin@wayne.edu

Hearn , Kim

Member, Board of Visitors, Since 2019

kim.hearn@uwdc.org

Horn , Alison

Member, Board of Visitors, Since 2018

alisonphorn@gmail.com

Marrett, Cora

Member, Board of Visitors, Since 2019

cmarrett53@gmail.com

Martínez, Jesús

Board Secretary, Board of Visitors, Since 2012

Jesus.Martinez@genusplc.com

Parisi, Joe

Member, Board of Visitors, Since 2019

parisis@countyofdane.com

Preizler, Marty

Chair, Board of Visitors, Since 2014 (previously 2008-2010)

map6786@uwalumni.com

Raymo, Jim

Ex-Officio Member, Board of Visitors

jraymo@ssc.wisc.edu

Richter , Andrew

Member, Board of Visitors, Since 2012

andrew.richter@aya.yale.edu

Sanchez, Laura

Member, Board of Visitors, Since 2019

Sanchez.Laura.Ann@gmail.com

Schwartz, Christine

Chair Ex-Officio Member, Board of Visitors

cschwart@ssc.wisc.edu

Sparkman, Wesley

Member, Board of Visitors, Since 2019

sparkman@countyofdane.com

Weirath , Thomas

Member, Board of Visitors, Since 2009 (Previous Chair)

gored75@aol.com

Youngers, Lisa R.

Member, Board of Visitors, Since 2018

lryoungers@gmail.com